surprisingly tasty vegan protein balls

10 Jan

I have been drinking protein shakes after doing my physiotherapy exercises to give myself the best chance of rebuilding my flabby muscles. But sometimes a protein shake is just not possible, for example when you are travelling. I will be travelling for the next ten days and I intend to continue my exercises during that period, but I’m sure as hell not going to take a huge bucket of protein powder and a shaker with me.
I concocted these portable protein balls so I can take them with me.
They are not as high in protein as a shake but if I eat a few of them it should do pretty well. And surprisingly they don’t actually taste too bad!

10 dates, soaked in hot water for 30 minutes
1 cup raw, unsalted sunflower seeds (or you could try using another type of nut/seed)
6 tbsp agave or other liquid sweetener
2 heaped tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp water
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

1/4 cup cocoa
1 1/2 cups unflavoured soy protein powder (or chocolate flavour if you can get it)
shake cinnamon

Using a hand blender or a food processor blend the first 6 ingredients until smooth. Transfer to a bowl and mix in the rest of the ingredients, using a spoon at first and then your hands to really get everything in a big lump. You might need at add a tbsp more water or agave syrup if your mixture is dry. Form into 18 balls and store in the fridge.
Depending on your protein powder you may get more or less, but mine ended up at 9.4 grams of protein per ball. Not bad at all.

2 Responses to “surprisingly tasty vegan protein balls”

  1. Amber January 14, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    They sound very useful ! And a bit too yummy ? Any idea how many carbs ?

    • wantingkneading January 16, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      Nah, they’re not THAT yummy, trust me. They’re not yummy enough to take a casual snack on, but pretty good as far as a quick and easy protein hit. I don’t know about the carbs, but I’m sure there’s a website where you can put the ingredients in and it would tell you?

Leave a Reply

